Horsham Lib Dems announce new HDC Shadow Cabinet

At their recent AGM, the Liberal Democrat Group on Horsham District Council have selected their leadership and Shadow Cabinet members for next year, leading into Horsham District elections in May 2023.

Cllr Martin Boffey, Trafalgar, was re-elected as Group Leader. Cllr John Milne, Roffey North was re-elected as Deputy Group Leader. Both Cllr Boffey and Cllr Milne had already been in post, following the stepping down of Cllrs Louise Potter and Matt Allen earlier this year.

Cllr Jon Olson, Forest, was elected as Group Secretary, and will also serve as the group media contact.

In addition, the new Shadow Cabinet roles and appointments were agreed as follows:

  • Cllr Martin Boffey, Trafalgar - Shadow Cabinet Member for Finance & Resources
  • Cllr John Milne, Roffey North - Shadow Cabinet Member for Environment & Recycling
  • Cllr Ruth Fletcher, Denne - Shadow Cabinet Member for Planning, Leisure & Culture
  • Cllr Jon Olson, Forest - Shadow Cabinet Member for Economy
  • Cllr Sam Raby, Roffey South - Shadow Cabinet Member for Housing & Community

Group Leader, Cllr Martin Boffey said:

"As the second largest group, with 14 members on the council, it is down to the Liberal Democrats to challenge Conservative bad decisions and provide realistic alternatives, as we have been doing since May 2019.

"The new Shadow cabinet is brimming with good ideas as we react to the challenges facing our residents during the current cost of living crisis and climate change emergency. We continue to listen to residents in Horsham and across the district, speaking out on their behalf at Council. We are demonstrating that we have what it takes to lead the council from 2023."

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.